Device manager initialization problem

Questions, comments and suggestions concerning VintaSoft Twain .NET SDK.

Moderator: Alex

gnumster

Device manager initialization problem

Post by gnumster »

Hi,
I am really new to Vintasoft TWAIN so please forgive me for asking what may be a silly question here.

I've just tried to run Vintasof Demo which I've found right after I've installed "VSTwainNet83.zip" package. Here is where I've found the demo project:
C:\Program Files (x86)\VintaSoft\VintaSoftTwain.NET v8.3\Examples\VS.NET.2010\CSharp\WpfTwainSimpleDemo
What I did was, I've opened it in Visual Studio 10 - it went well, no problem. Built - again no problem. Started - all good, some UI with buttons and usual stuff. Evaluation dialog comes up, clicked "Evaluate" - all good. Clicked big button "Acquire Image(s)" on the next screen. Next thing happened is "Cannoot initialize the device manager." error message.

Then I have found in FAQ section of support website a short article suggesting to set TWAIN logging in Environment variables. I did that and tried to start again. Same result. No log found in set up location.

Next this article in FAQ suggested was to enable Vintasoft TWAIN logging, which I did by adding the following line into "MainWindow.xaml.cs" of demo project (above) line 159. Following line was added:

Code: Select all

TwainEnvironment.EnableDebugging(@"C:\twain\vstwain.log");
Then I've started demo program again, with the same result as before. This time however I've found "C:\twain\vstwain.log" file. Following is what was in the file:
28/05/2013 7:32:40 a.m. 67,706,880 Debugging enabled [8.3.4.1]
28/05/2013 7:32:40 a.m. 67,829,760 Device manager is opening PathToDSM=C:\Windows\TWAIN_32.DLL State=Closed
28/05/2013 7:32:40 a.m. 67,829,760 Cannot initialize the device manager.
28/05/2013 7:33:12 a.m. 69,361,664 Device manager is closing State=Closed
28/05/2013 7:33:12 a.m. 69,361,664 Device manager is closed State=Closed