"Cannot initialize the Device Manager"

Questions, comments and suggestions concerning VintaSoft Twain .NET SDK.

Moderator: Alex

Post Reply
mywebforall
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2023 2:35 pm

"Cannot initialize the Device Manager"

Post by mywebforall »

Hi,

i'm writing a Web App on Node JS to let my customers to scan PDF document. I'v implemented all the needed Vintasoft JS files, downloaded and installed VSWebTwainService14_0, checked the service status on both "https:25329" "http://localhost:25319/api/VintasoftTwainApi/Status" and both are responding. But still i get "Cannot initialize the Device Manager".
Here is the output of the console.log(twainDeviceManager) :
H {_333: P, _1144: null, _763: null, _652: null, _547: null, …}
_112
:
true
_333
:
P {_490: 'https://localhost:25329/api/VintasoftTwainApi', _416: 0, _712: Array(0)}
_531
:
false
_547
:
null
_567
:
null
_652
:
19
_763
:
"ddd346d1827145cb94563cb2a9fdcb80"
_929
:
null
_1144
:
"14.0.0.3"
That points to an Array with lenght = 0, it should be the Array containing the availables Devices. Now i don't understand if it is 0 because the Web Service doesn't find any devices or because it's not workin properly.
Just for test purpose, i've tried other js plugins for web scanning with their own web services software to install and they can find my scanner device.
Can someone gives me any clue about it?
Thank you in advance.
Alex
Site Admin
Posts: 2305
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 2:21 pm

Re: "Cannot initialize the Device Manager"

Post by Alex »

Hi,

First, check that version of VintaSoft Web TWAIN service do you use. 32- or 64-bit? Please open file "C:\Program Files (x86)\VintaSoft\Web TWAIN Service 14.0\VintasoftWebTwainService.ini" and check value in "RUN32BITWEBSERVICE" parameter. If you have "RUN32BITWEBSERVICE=1", you are using 32-bit version of web service. If you have "RUN32BITWEBSERVICE=0", you are using 64-bit version of web service.

Next, open "C:\Windows\twain_32\" and "C:\Windows\twain_64\" folders and check that folder contains TWAIN driver for your scanner. If TWAIN driver is located in folder "C:\Windows\twain_32\", you have 32-bit TWAIN driver; otherwise, you have 64-bit TWAIN driver.

For using 32-bit TWAIN scanner, you need to use 32-bit version of VintaSoft Web TWAIN service. For using 64-bit TWAIN scanner, you need to use 64-bit version of VintaSoft Web TWAIN service.

Best regards, Alexander
mywebforall
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2023 2:35 pm

Re: "Cannot initialize the Device Manager"

Post by mywebforall »

Hi Alex,
thanks for your fast answer, i'm Luigi. The Twain drivers of my Device are 32 bit, I've tried and started the 32 service but still nothing.
I'm running Windows 11 and the device is installed and running properly.
It's about two days i'm banging my head against the wall :lol: :lol:

Regards,
Luigi.
Alex
Site Admin
Posts: 2305
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 2:21 pm

Re: "Cannot initialize the Device Manager"

Post by Alex »

Hi Luigi,

What driver for your scanner do you have? Maybe you have WIA driver? If yes, only TWAIN device manager 1.x can access WIA drivers.

Please open VintaSoft JavaScript TWAIN Scanning Demo (https://demos.vintasoft.com/JavaScriptT ... nningDemo/) and see the result. Try to use TWAIN device manager 2.x ("TWAIN 2 compatible" checkbox is enabled) and TWAIN device manager 1.x ("TWAIN 2 compatible" checkbox is disabled).

Best regards, Alexander
mywebforall
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2023 2:35 pm

Re: "Cannot initialize the Device Manager"

Post by mywebforall »

Got it! :D :D :D :D
Thank you!!
Best regards,
Luigi
Post Reply